Other recent news & articles

Indian governmentís gift to tourists: Electronic visa

There are about 30 countries including the US, Japan, and South Korea, where the electronic visa facility will be extended first while Germany, Israel, and Russia are under consideration.

Once implemented, the Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) will allow foreign travelers to apply for a visa and receive online confirmation within three to five working days. ETA will be available for a 30-day period from the date of the touristís arrival in India.

The government plans to establish a separate website to extend the facility to foreigners intending to visit India as tourists.

To get the visa, they would need to apply through the designated website along with the required fees.

This is the first time that electronic visas will be implemented in the country. Plans were afoot to include all 109 countries in a phased manner.

The government has been encouraged by the good response to the visa on arrival scheme to extend ETA to the 12 countries.


No comments added yet